David Price Wins Cy Young Award

The much-anticipated AL Cy Young award winner was announced last night in a historic day in Tampa Bay Rays history. The competition for the league’s top pitcher was really between David Price and Detroit’s Justin Verlander, who received all but one of the first place votes.

Price won the voting by a very slim margin of four points over the reigning Cy Young and and MVP award-winner Verlander, who also made a great case to add to his accolades with a 17-8 record and a 2.64 ERA with the AL Champion Tigers. However, the BWAA decided that Price’s numbers—20-5, 2.56 ERA (MLB-best) and 211 innings pitched—were more worthy of the honor.

The Price-Verlander debate was definitely a good one from the start, and the decision really could of went either way. Verlander had the advantage in WAR and innings pitched, but Price lead in the crucial ERA category, making it a very close call.

Congrats to David! Rays Republic hopes their star southpaw stays in Tampa for many years to come!

More Rays news and notes:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s